Ross Harper released Vol.2 of ’The Dark Album’ remixes!


Brighton-based Producer & DJ Ross Harper has today (30th March) released Vol.2 of ’The Dark Album’ remixes, featuring brutal and beautiful re-workings from acclaimed producers JoeFarr, Gotshell, NOCOW & Mar io.

joeFarr, who has recently released on Hydraulix, Soma and Rebekah’s ‘Elements’ label, presents a pounding reworking of ‘Zeitgeber’. On his remix, joeFarr said: “The main lead is just perfect. As soon as I heard it I knew what to do with it. It has this early Daft Punk swagger to it which had me hooked”. The result of combining Ross Harper’s intense and memorable hook with joeFarr’s super hard industrial strength techno beats is a Zeitgeber monster machine. NOCOW also lends his hand to a ‘Zeitgeber’ remix, taking the hypnotic vibe of the original and capitalises on it using some ”call and response” jumbled, muffled vocal lines, the result is gripping and entrancing. NOCOW is no stranger to releasing underground music, with a 10 year music career he‘s produced more than 20 releases for different labels, such as Figure, BPitch, Turbo, Rekids, Clone, Gost Zvuk, Roots United, Ethereal Sound, Styrax, Fauxpas Musik.

BPitch mainstay and ambassador for the Colombian electronic music scene, Gotshell strips ‘Hard Patience’ right back to create a droning deep techno ambient vibe with some gentle percussive swells. The beauty of this simplicity is a result that holds the listener within the soft rocking motion of the kick, bass and warm sea like energy in the discordant symphonies. 

What Mar io has done with ‘Zeitgeber’ is actually incredible. He has taken the fundamental structure, the bass, the hook, the stabs, and built on each of them emphatically, also restructuring the beats with something slightly more solid and complex, yet still with the beauty, simplicity and power of the original. Mar io is a German producer, based in Marburg, his sound can be found on labels such as Form&Terra, Digital Diamonds, BluFin, Broque, Harthouse and Evosonic.

DJ support comes from Slam, John Digweed, Charlotte de Witte, Arnaud Le Texier, Carl Craig, Paco Osuna, amongst others. Listen it bellow:


Source link